Russia Day 2

What a day!!! I woke up after some rock solid sleep and showered cuz really I could have slept more.  I went down for breakfast and it was good.  Some pancakes with jam, egg, piece of quiche and lots of water! I went back to my room and got a call to be ready at 10 instead of 11. I was ready already so no big deal.  I went downstairs and met Vlad my translator.  Alex picked us p and off we went to the MOE.  We met with the lady there.  She had a few questions for me.  I answered them and then Vlad and I went to wait in the lobby.  Vlad and I were talking when he says, here comes the Actual Minister.  He said look at her, so I turned watched her enter the building and he said something to her and I mumbled hello and smiled.  Alex came out shortly after and off we went to get going on the 2.5 hour drive to Pyatigorsk.  Alex picked up his wife … She is so nice… And the three of us drove off.

We got to the hotel and met up with another single gal who is here for her court but came a few days earlier to spend with her daughter.  We also met up with the local translator. We all headed off to the orphanage.  Alex, Nonna (translator) and I went to the directors office.  She shared my girls story with me.  Towards the end, as we chatted about her personality, the door opened… In came the sweetest package all dressed up in what I’m sure was their Sunday best, bow and hat included!  I started crying but realized I needed to buck up a bit and take the moment in…. She was in the arms of her favorite caregiver.  She cried as the room and people were unfamiliar.  Irina, her caretaker spoke something in Russian to her and she quieted down and sat on her lap as we finished talking about her.  Nonna grabbed her and I spoke to her a bit.  She was very nervous.  She went back to Irina. A few minutes later she gave me some looks to show she was checking me out.  She let me hold her and off we went to play for the next 2.5 hours. 

She played and we played and I watched her and took lots of pix.  I even got a giggle at the end.  I go back tomorrow. There are 10 kids in her group.  They all are sweet and the caregivers really do love them all….  

Anyway, what I can say is she is serious but I’d be too if I were her.  She smiles and laughs.  She likes to play with small things to grab and stack.  She is delicate.  She is beautiful.  She is a survivor.  She copies what I say.  She has big blue eyes. She is tiny.  She has made this wait worth it.  I am in LOVE!!! Going home is gonna suck.  

P.S.  If there are a lot of typos… I apologize.  I’m trying to hurry and conserve battery.. In case I can’t find a converter tomorrow….

Tracey Fraser
Sent from my iPad

14 thoughts on “Russia Day 2

  1. I’m getting all misty eyed just reading that! 🙂 I’m so glad you got to meet your little girl today! she’ll be home soon 🙂 you’ll have to have a “shower” when she gets home!

  2. I am over the moon happy for you!!!
    Thank you for sharing this moment
    Sending love to Russia from Canada

    xoxo

  3. So happy for you, it will be hard to leave but remember it is a step closer to bringing her home, just keep your eye on the prize!!!

  4. Oh my word….I’m blubbering like a baby. I know you have waited so long for this my friend and you were one of the first people I connected with online. I am so so happy for you and I just can’t WAIT to see a photo of your bundle of cuteness x

  5. I am so thrilled for you! Enjoy your time with her! She’ll be home soon! xo

  6. What a lovely and sweet day! So happy for you and your precious girl. Enjoy your time getting to know eachother!!!!

  7. I can’t believe you have to go home without her! I am sooooo happy for you, and cannot wait to see pictures and for her to be home with you. And you still get to spend more time with her. Yay!

  8. Hi Tracey! I noticed you commented on my blog and I had to check out yours! Wow!! You’re in Russia! Many congrats! It sounds like things are going beautifully. I also noticed that you commented on my blog about sharing the importance of the attachment period with friends and family. I found a letter on another blog a few years ago that I intend to tailor to our child and post when the time comes. The letter is from the child and is amazing. Let me know if you want me to send it to you. lkn_56@yahoo.com. Safe and happy travels and enjoy these days with your beautiful girl. Laura

Leave a Reply

