Sunday Evening

It’s Sunday night and I’m back in Stavropol in my hotel room. What a great day! This mornings visit was fun. We did the usual. Played, walked around, looked for stray dogs wandering by the orphanage. They make V giggle with delight. I fed her lunch again today and then it was off to nap. As Nonna and I left, she told me that V and I have a special connection and it is clear to her we will be happy together. She said “I often see the families play and smile, but this girl, she laughs with you.. Really laughs. It is amazing and a blessing for you both”. We headed back to the hotel. I went upstairs and Nonna went home. I packed my things and decided to nap as well.

At 2:30 I checked out and waited for Alex to come get me. Nonna came to see me off. I bought her a little present so gave it to her then. She gave me some mothering advice and soon Alex was there and off we went to the orphanage. I walked in to get V and she was on her way out to me. We played for about an hour and they brought her snack to me and I fed her. Then it was time for me to leave. I went to pass her off to Irina and V shook her little head “nyet” (it’s the cutest thing btw) and started crying. Irina spoke something in Russian to Lyuba (alex’s wife) and she translated for me… She said that when I pulled up in the car, they told V that mommy was here and V went running for the door… Cute huh 🙂

As I sit here tonight, I know that tomorrow is court date number one. It’s hard because I know what to expect but i also don’t know what to expect. I’m a little nervous… But I’m sure I’ll do fine. I’m just going to speak from the heart and share what I know and feel….

11 thoughts on “Sunday Evening

  1. oh man, I’m getting all emotional reading your updates 🙂 it’s so close! miss V will be yours forever in just another day!

    while I’m sorry that she cries when you leave, I love that she already knows you’re mommy! and I hope you will upload a video of her laughing 🙂

  2. Great that you both are making a strong connection with each other. Hope all goes well at court. More then one court date, must be a regional thing…

  3. You’re going to rock your court dates. Can’t wait for your update from when you girls are BOTH back here in the States!!!

  4. Good luck tomorrow. You will be great. They will see how wonderful you will be as a mom. V is very lucky to have you!

  5. Hope court goes well. If (yeah right we know it will) how soon to you get to keep her with you? Good luck and many hugs.

Leave a Reply

