First Mommy Decision

Well, Miss Vera is very girlie.  Which I find fabulous.  Since we got home, she has always wanted to wear long necklaces and bracelets, etc.  And funny thing is, at the time, I was home with her and wasn’t wearing any of that myself.  She would literally find rosaries around the house and put them on.  If it resembled a necklace or a bracelet, she was wearing it!  I chalk it up to the caregivers in Russia, well at least the ones at her orphanage.  They always had makeup and jewelry on.

Well, for Christmas I got a ring.  It is a symbol of my commitment to Vera.  She will always be my number one priority.  And I wanted a ring to wear and see all the time.  A ring that was unique and beautiful just like her.  Once I get the ring back I will share a picture.  Anyway, the ring was too big and I needed to get it sized.  There is a nice family owned jewelry store downtown.  Vera and I headed there on the 23rd of December.  After deciding on how small to make the ring, I asked if they knew a nice clean place to maybe get Vera’s ears pierced in the future.  You see, Vera has trying to wear my earrings and is very interested in the ones in my ear.  And, with being so girly, I knew she would love it.  Well, they actually did it there.  So, I picked out some plain cz studs and she sat nicely on my lap.  They drew two dots, set up the triggers and BAM done.   Vera was surprised and cried for maybe 10 seconds.  I had a pacifier handy, a piece of chocolate and a mirror ready to go.  She got the paci, the candy and then looked in the mirror and she was fine.  She was SOO happy to see earings in her ears.  She kept saying “earring, earring.  mama earring”.  She lets me clean and turn them without a fuss and is sure to show everyone her ears.  Too Cute!

I know it was just earrings,  but it sure felt like a big mommy moment… I was so proud of her for being so brave and so appreciative.  Christmas was fantastic and I will post about it and share pix in the next day or so.  In the meantime, a picture of my beautiful Russian Princess and her new earrings …..

 

4 thoughts on “First Mommy Decision

  1. How cute. I remember talking my mom into piercing my little sisters ears when she was like 6 months old and she hardly cried either. Plus for her with no hair it helped show yes she was a girl.

  2. how precious! 🙂 the earrings are adorable – and I see she’s wearing necklaces too!

    I bought myself a ring with Calebs birthstone this year too… I’ve wanted one for a few years now, and I can’t wait till it comes (next week, I hope!)

    I can’t wait to see a picture of the ring you chose 🙂

  3. How sweet! Love seeing you and your girly-girl.

    I went ‘looking’ for a girly girl to adopt but ended up with a macho Russian son who is definately ‘all boy’.

Leave a Reply

