Four Months Home

Well it surely is hard to believe that we have been home for just over 4 months now.  Since we have been home I have noticed a couple of things.  The first is that I share less with strangers now.  What I mean by that is this.  When we first got home, I think I told every person I came in contact with that we just got home from Russia and that Vera was adopted.  Part of it was the excitement.  The other part was I was probably making sure they knew why she didn’t talk or communicate as well as their kids.  Also, she was very attached (still is) to me.  But back then, it wasn’t like it is now, a “I prefer my momma vs you” it was more of a fear and she relied on me to protect her from all the strangeness.  Which of course I was very happy to do.  So, what I mean by this is that we now know how the other operates, thinks, feels and loves.  Don’t get me wrong.  Each day offers new insight into who Vera is and who she is becoming.  I love that.  I guess I don’t feel like I need to share how I become her mommy now with everyone.  They just see me as her mommy and I love that.  I love her.  More so than I ever imagined and more each day…

The other thing I noticed is that I LOVE following along with others who are in the beginning stages, middle stage and after stage of adoption.  I was very sad the other day when one of my favorite blogs that was a source to come across and follow along on other Russian adoptions shut down.  My new task is to track blogs down and  build my sidebar.  Anyway. the reason I love following along is because I miss Russia in a weird way.  I used to think that I wouldn’t want to take Vera there until she was an older teen.  But I would love to go back and visit in a few years.  If it wasn’t on the other side of the world I would probably go back this summer.  But it is and we won’t but I do miss it…

I signed Vera up for a creative dance class.  She really seems to like it.  She follows along and smiles and laughs a lot.  Last Friday I was a little worried.  There are 8 other girls in her class.  5 of them pretty much decided to not listen to the teacher and to run around the room, hanging on ballet bars, turning off lights, running, laying on the floor, etc.  The teacher asked them no less than 5 times to stop and follow along.  Hanging on the ballet bars is prohibited and of course the lights.. but anyway, finally the mothers came in and they too asked their kids no less than 5 times to pay attention.  Had it been me, I would have excused Vera after my 3rd warning and she certainly would not have received a sticker at the end of class.  At the end of class, one of the mothers came up to me and told me Vera was such a good listener.  I assume that was a compliment.  So I smiled and said Thank You 🙂

This weekend we are going to a get together for families that used Adopt International.  They are the local agency that did my homestudy.  They have an annual Love party and Vera and I plan on attending.  For my adoption I used European Children Adoption Services (ECAS).  I wish they were closer so I could pass by and hug each of them!

Lets see.. some Vera updates.  She currently thinks that mirrors are the most fun.  She loves to look at herself and make funny faces.  Each face cracks me up more than the previous.  She loves to be outside.  We go to the park and she slides and laughs and then we head over to the pond to watch the ducks, then back to the playground 🙂  She gets frustrated easily if she can’t make a toy work immediately.  Vera continues to learn more words though she still isn’t stringing more than 1 together very often.  But I keep reminding myself it has only been 4 months.

Vera loves coffee so I need to be sure not to leave my cup lying around as she will drink it up.  She also drinks water all the time and every once in a while will have a glass of apple juice or one of those water coolers by capri sun.  She has grown quite a bit and it will be interesting to see the stats when we head to our 6 month home visit with the pediatrician in a couple of months.  Her hair is so much healthier now and she just got a trim last week.  The first one since we got home and it looks fantastic.  What else….. oh she finally realized I have a tattoo on my lower back.  It’s a scottish lion.  As I was doing yard work last weekend, she decided to join me up on the little hillside in the yard (it’s a glorified planter box really).  Anyway, as I was reaching across the rose bushes to trim them and my shirt rose and she saw the tattoo.  She began petting it.. it was too cute!  LOL.  She was like “lion momma.  lion”.  hahahah

Well that is about it!  Have a great rest of the week.  I will leave you with a little picture of my little Russian beauty….

 

9 thoughts on “Four Months Home

  1. I closed my adoption blog (Before Sneg0ruchka) as well but still follow you here! Thrilled Vera is doing so well and I can’t believe you have been home 4 months already. The happy endings are always nice to see. 🙂

  2. It’s like on Pinterest when people post little saying about stuff everyone does and you think “oh wow I’m not the only one” It’s like you wrote this post about me, but added Vera’s name.

    -I told everyone Oliver was adopted. What almost two year old doesn’t know high five, how to say a few words, and other random social graces that “homegrowns” seem to come with? I felt as though he needed an excuse, just for a short grace period.

    -I find myself jealous of people who are going through their second trip. That was, by far, my favorite time in the process. I loved Russia, the thrill of knowing we finally did it, the exploring, the newness. I can’t wait to go back, for a visit.

    -Ha! Some parents stink at making their kid follow the rules. Drives. Me. Nuts!

    -I was so upset to see that Russia Blogs Galore shut down. UGH, what am I going to do when the men are sleeping….filling time with pinterest.

    Vera is awesome. Glad things are going great!

  3. Beautiful picture! I’m currently in the waiting phase and like to follow blogs of those who have already brought their little ones home. I like to see how they are adjusting. I like to read yours. I just started a blog recently.
    I’m glad that your little one is doing well. 🙂

  4. Hi Tracy. Just like Andie up there I too have just started the process to adopt from Russia AND like you I’m doing it as a single woman. I’ve been reading your blog for awhile now because it inspires me. The changes in Vera are astonishing to me – she looks so much healthier and happier in just 4 short months. Its beautiful to look at. Thank you for continuing to share your journey with all of us. 🙂

  5. Love to hear how well Vera is doing! I also love the nesting doll pillow! I need to find more Russian stuff for Dasha to play with, the stuff we brought home is really not kid friendly!

  6. I don’t even have a blog! But I’m obsessed with reading others’ blogs. I love Vera (and your blog) simply because you adopted from STAVROPOL. How weird is that. There is a lady who adopted from my son’s groupa who I’ve only spoken to a few times through email (and 2x on facebook) and I realized when I saw some updated pictures of him that what I felt was what I feel for my brother’s daughter. There was a second were I saw a birthday picture and thought ‘oh, I forgot his birthday’. Then it hit me this boy is a stranger to me and doesn’t know me for naught. My son remembers hers because she sent a picture of them together and he looks at it often but it’s been 2 years and it’s weird that I still think the two are somehow just going to be ‘cousins’. I however feel like they are cousins and like he is part of the family…probably pretty creepy to people to a lot of people. My son and I are excited to be going back to Russia in 2014, which I also thought I’d not really want to do until he was in his teen years, if ever.

  7. Vera is such a sweetie and you are such a lucky Mommy. I found at the beginning that I was a lot more open about how my boys were conceived (donor sperm). Now that Warren is 4 1/2 I tend to talk about it a lot less. In the beginning, when I was trying, pregnant, had a new baby it seemed much more important than it is now. I still tell the boys the Warren story (and Grant is included now too) but I find more often that it’s him initiating it rather than me.

  8. Hi i’m Heather! I have a question for you! Please email me 🙂
    HeatherVonSJ[at]gmail[dot]com

  9. She is so precious!

    I’ll bet a trip to Russia would be awesome when she’s a bit older.

    I love that she loves coffee!

    I also love that she’s a good listener. As you’re traversing this world, you’ll find a lot of things that you wouldn’t stand for that other parents do. Whatever works for you…I kind of like being seen as the “mean mommy.”

Leave a Reply

