Efforts

I am REALLY going to try to make an effort to get back into blogging. So, here goes my second post in two weeks. So, what has been going on? Well, you saw last post that we just reached our 3 year family mark. It is still so hard to believe that 3 years has gone by. I haven’t blogged in a long time and well, not much has happened during my absence.

Vera is almost 5 years old. She missed the cut off date for Kindy (Oct 1st) so she is doing preK again. She was at one school 3 days per week for 3 hours over the past two years. LOVED them. They are amazing and she was totally prepared to start kindy. She knows her Upper and Lower case letters, can write and count to 20. Starting to read a little. Knows her shapes, colors, etc. Maybe I could have pushed to have her tested, but I knew one area she needed growth on was emotionally. She is perfectionist. If she doesn’t get it perfect the first time… the tears start. So, I figured another PreK year would build her confidence and I was right. She still has moments. For example last night I introduced Sudoku to her. First, instead of numbers it was fruit to match up. She just didn’t get the point. Then we changed to numbers 1-4 and VIOLA! She loves it. Anyway, I wholeheartedly believe that this year she is growing more confident by the day.

She started a new school this year. This is the school that she will be attending thru 8th. Private and I love it. Of course I am broke and all my house projects that I have in the hopper will take years to get to, but she is so happy at the school. I am happy with the school and it is a great fit.

On that note, you may wonder what I am up to. Well, I am still single and still very happy being single. Still living at the same place and like I said, slowly working on updating the house room by room. You saw the kitchen (that was two years ago and basically where I left off with the blog). Since then I have done Vera’s room, Vera’s bathroom, updated the family room and play area, and I just finished my closet. I have a some little details to finish upstairs (baseboard mostly) that I hope to get done soon. My goal for 2015 is to focus more on my photography. I still do it and LOVE it. I just haven’t committed as much of myself to it as I want to and it is just a matter of balancing my life to fit it in.

I have been working out and have dropped 30 pounds. I still have 40 more to go. I do crossfit and tomorrow I am starting a 6 week challenge to see who can lose the most body fat. A little friendly competition with friends 🙂 This afternoon I get to get dunked in some water tank to test body fat. NOT looking forward to the reality of those numbers, but it is a must to take it to the next level.

In all honesty, the past two years have been great. Vera is the best daughter I could have asked for. She is happy, kind and caring. She loves spending time me and we often cuddle and read. She has the most amazing spirit and people are always drawn to her. I can count on one hand the amount of times she has been in “trouble”. I am just SOOO blessed and grateful for the life I have. I am excited to get back to blogging and sharing it all with you!

3 thoughts on “Efforts

  1. It’s so great to read an update. I’ve wondered where you have been. I’m happy to read all is well. Vera is adorable. I’ve followed you all the way back to the sperm bank boards. My little boy started kindergarten this fall and all is going well.

  2. Love the updates! I saw you comment on a mutual facebook friend’s post a few weeks ago and I couldn’t believe how grown up your girl looked in what must have been a profile picture. (I hope that wasn’t too stalkerish!) My oldest is also almost 5 and I’m not really looking forward to Kindergarten next year. I’m going to miss him 😦

  3. I am going (I swear) to get better about blogging! LOL! I am so glad you were able to see that picture of Vera! That was her 5th bday picture! She grew leaps and bounds this year! She missed the kindy cut off so she is doing Jr. K but it is good for her. It is helping in her self confidence. The idea that next year, in kindy, she will be in school all day, makes me realize how quick they grow up! If you see me on FB! Friend me!

Leave a comment